Skip to content

Mayor and Council Contact Information & Biographies

Hastings Highlands Council

2022-2026 Hastings Highlands Municipal Council
(Left to Right) Councillor Joan Nieman, Councillor Roger Davis, Councillor Nancy Matheson, Mayor Tony Fitzgerald, Deputy Mayor Tammy Davis, Councillor Keith Buck and Councillor Tracy Hagar

Tony Fitzgerald – Mayor
Phone: (613) 334-5788
Email: [email protected]

I am a lifelong resident of Hastings Highlands, living on the family farm in Greenview. Together with Judy, my wife of 35 years, we raise a herd of natural, grass fed Simmental beef cattle. We have four grown children and ten beautiful grandchildren. For many years I coached minor hockey in Bancroft, served as a volunteer fire fighter with Monteagle Station and been very active in raising funds for local and global charities, such as the Maynooth and Area Food Bank and Peru Mission. I taught elementary school in Bancroft for just over 30 years. I enjoy playing hockey, music and canoeing.

After retiring form teaching in 2018, I was elected to Council and enjoyed serving the ratepayers of Hastings Highlands. During these past four years I was also the Chair of the Committee of Adjustment and the Vice Chair of the North Hastings Arena Commission.

I am looking forward to serving as your Mayor for the next four years. I hope to lead Council in making reasonable, affordable and sustainable decisions for all residents, both permanent and seasonal, of Hastings Highlands.

Tammy Davis – Deputy Mayor
Phone: (613) 338-5645
Email: [email protected]

Keith Buck – Councillor
Phone: (613) 338-3283
Email: [email protected]

Roger Davis – Councillor
Phone: (613) 338-3216
Email: [email protected]

Tracy Hagar – Councillor
Phone: (613) 334-7421
Email: [email protected]


My name is Tracy Hagar, I am an elected Councillor for the Municipality of Hastings Highland for the next 4 years as this is the start of my third term. In the past 8 years I have served 4 years as a Councillor, 2 years as the Deputy Mayor and 2 years as the Mayor. I am an avid volunteer in the community as well as a local business owner in a business that I started from the ground up 12 years ago. I have been married / common law for 40 years and have raised 4 children together with my husband Frank. I have had many hobbies over the years, fishing, hiking, archery, quilting, crocheting, sewing, painting… to name some. I continue to have many interests and I’m always willing to learn more and have more adventures. I consider myself open minded and helpful. I am always available for stakeholders to contact me. I promise to continue to do the best I can to support you, the stakeholders of our Municipality first and foremost. I look forward to this next term of Council, to grow, to learn and to serve.

Thank You for your continued support.

Nancy Matheson – Councillor
Phone: (613) 332-5066
Email: [email protected]

I was raised in Toronto, where I studied Business Management at Humber College.  We lived in Cape Breton, and Niagara Falls before we purchased  “Matheson’s Country Store” In Hastings Highlands, (now referred to as “Route 62”), in 1995. We have been very fortunate to have the opportunity to live and play on beautiful Baptiste Lake for the past 27 years. After running the general store for 12 years, I started as Activation Coordinator at Riverstone Residence, where I still work today. My husband Jack and I have been married for 43 years, we have 2 children, and 4 grandchildren. 

I have had the pleasure of serving 2 ½ terms (10 years) as a Councillor for Hastings Highlands. During this time, I was a member of the Committee of Adjustment, Waste Management Committee, Economic Development Champions Team, Downtown Revitalization, Lake Health Working Group, Maynooth and Hastings Highlands Business Association, First Impressions Community Exchange Program, Business Retention and Expansion Program, Maynooth Community Project, North Hastings Arena Committee, Grant Committee, and Founder and Chair of the Honorarium Committee. In the past, I have served as board member/fundraiser for the Bancroft Skating Club, Transition House (women’s shelter) and HART.

I look forward to both the challenges and accomplishments over the next 4 years, moving our municipality forward in a proactive and responsible manner.

Joan Nieman – Councillor
Phone: (613) 334-2061
Email: [email protected]